Books

Author Interview: Carrie Jones

March 31, 2010

If you haven’t read any of Carrie Jones’ books, then as soon as you’re done reading this interview, you have to go out and find copies of her books because they’re just that good. The woman behind the books is even more amazing. So, without further ado, here’s my interview with Carrie Jones:

If you had to describe your writing in 3 to 5 words, how would you do so?

Kick-butt pixie stories

How do you think you’ve grown as a writer?
I’ve gotten a lot better at plots. I used to be very character driven when I wrote, but when I started NEED, I started writing more action/plot oriented things. It’s been so much fun learning how to do that.

Is there anything in particular you’d like to accomplish with your writing?

I’d like to give people a place to escape to and I’d like to make them happy and care about the characters and hopefully that will make them care about themselves a little bit more too. I’m always worried people don’t love themselves (or other people) enough. Oh man… I sound like a self-help person on a daytime talk show. I’m so sorry.

What has been your favorite part about being an author?

I really like writing in bed. I really like being able to make stories up for a living. And it’s cool to be able to work in my pjs. I am not a morning person. It’s a good profession for me. Plus, it’s really cool when people write me about the books.

For fans of Need and Captivate, what can they expect in the third installment?

It’ll be about Zara trying to get back something or someone she’s lost. I’m totally not allowed to give away spoilers. I’m so sorry. I know that was cryptic!
Do you have anything planned once the Need series is finished?

Not really. I have a couple other books already in draft form so it’ll be fun to go back and revise them and to start something new. I’m always working on a bunch of projects at once.

What was it like organizing the Bar Harbor Book Festival?

It’s hard! It’s hard to try to get people to come and to be organized but it’s also awesome because I get to hang out with authors and readers and cops. The Festival is meant to raise money to promote literacy on the island and police officers are involved.

What are three things your readers may not know about you?

I used to get paid to sing.

I taught gymnastics.
My first crush was on a grizzly bear.

What would you say to someone aspiring to be an author?

Good luck! No. Seriously, I’d say that it is an awesome job and that you should live the biggest craziest life you can so that you’ll have lots of things to write about and to try to write as often as you can. It’s like playing a guitar. The more you practice, the better your songs sound.
———————————————–

For more information on Carrie Jones and her books, please visit:

(author photo taken from Bloomsbury.com and cover images taken from Barnes and Nobles’ website)

You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply Faye April 2, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    <3 Carrie Jones Books! I can’t wait 2 read the 3rd book in the Need series 😀 Great interview!

  • Leave a Reply